Re-blog Brian’s Writing Tip #3: Write like you talk

I saw this yesterday and it made me think. I sometimes write too formal. Not because I want to sound formal, but because I am not a native speaker. But i realize that I rarely write how I speak. So maybe I should try that next time I start writing.

What do you think? Should we write how we speak or can that be a problem? Comment below and tell me what you think. 🙂

 

Source:  Brian’s Writing Tip #3: Write like you talk (3) Brian’s Writing Tip #3: Write like you talk | Writing Tips | Pinterest

One thought on “Re-blog Brian’s Writing Tip #3: Write like you talk

  1. Interesting question. I think writing like you speak is specific style. It certainly works for some writers and some stories, but it would get tedious if every writer wrote like that.
    I like to write as if a character is speaking sometimes, it’s very enjoyable to just imagine their voice speaking, and the words flow easily, but that doesn’t mean it’s good writing. I guess it’s always good to play with different styles, in fact I’ll shorten that: it’s always good to play. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

