Let’s talk about – Short stories

Letstalkabout

 

Did you ever do something many many times and it is deep in your bones and blood and you could do it in your sleep? Then you try something else and it works really well but you go back to do that old thing and you fail over and over? That is me with short stories. I used to write them a lot. But ever since I wrote my first novel I have real trouble with them.

That wouldn’t be too bad if I wouldn’t want to write them. I have several ideas for stories that are not meant to be as long as a novel or even a novella. So short story it is. Well said. Tell that to my 50 attempts to write one. I tried it with outlining, making keynotes, pre-planning … nothing. I keep running into a wall and believe what I wrote sucks big hairy sweaty donkey balls. Eeew, I know.

I am usually a big fan of research and reading articles to help me going, but in this case, it just makes me nutters. It feels like everyone knows how to write a short story but I don’t. And I don’t know you but I become obsessive about this. Trying even harder and falling with my nose flat on the concrete floor.

So next I’ll try to throw out the outline and plans and write that short story by feeling and using my gut instinct. Let’s see how that goes!

How are you with writing short stories? Are they hard? How do you deal with the struggle? Or are they smooth sailing? How did you get there? Share your experiences with us in the comments and don’t forget to subscribe 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Let’s talk about – Short stories

  1. I have trouble with keeping short stories short. The latest one I’ve submitted is still a few hundred words over the publisher’s word count guideline. My trouble is getting the feeling and imagery across with as few words as possible. It’s a form I haven’t really practiced with in a long time. I’ve been too concentrated on my novel series.

    I think a key to perfecting the form will be to focus on vocabulary (while keeping the average vocabulary of potential readers in mind) to get the most bang for my buck with words. It will also mean patience for the revision and editing process. The rule of thumb is the first draft will ALWAYS suck: rewrite, rewrite, rewrite.

    Like

    • I totally see what you mean. Being used to write elaborate scenes and colourful descriptions of scenes and surroundings, that might as well be one of my problems. I did not get this far yet when trying to write the first draft. And YES, first drafts always suck. They are allowed to suck, that is so super important to remember! I might take this chance also to grow my vocabulary, that’s a helpful tip. Thank you, Tamara!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. When there’s something I want to write but can’t… I often find it helps to write something I didn’t know I wanted to write in the first place! What I mean is, I purposely try to write something that has nothing to do with my main story or idea, with no intention of it ever being used for anything other than a writing exercise… Sometimes I find it helps your mind adjust on whatever it was you were trying to do in the first place!

    Like

    • That’s a good idea! I do use this sometimes when I have a writer’s block. Maybe using the same technique when I hate all I wrote for something I want to write works as well. That way the brain gets some rest and stops obsessing over it. I’ll try that. Thanks, Shaun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

